LONGHUNTER 9, When you get ready

LONGHUNTER 9

When you get ready for a reenactment, there are many things you need to have available in your pack/carry bag, haversack, knapsack and on your person.

As far as what I have to have as a uniform, I usually start at my feet and go up to the top of my head. So it goes something like this: shoe/brogans, padding for my heels, socks, underwear, trousers, suspenders/bracers if applicable, shirt, coat, tie, hat and gloves along with a muffler if reenacting in cold weather.

Then comes what I carry on my person such as haversack, cartridge box, belt, which has my cap box, knife and bayonet, my canteen and then my knapsack.

My haversack houses a housewife (sewing kit), plate, knife, fork, spoon, matches (called Lucifers), candle, meat, bread, and toilet paper.

Next comes the pack with a change of shirt, socks and underwear along with rifle cleaning kit, extra cartridges and all the other comforts of home. Usually a blanket and two gum blankets are attached to the knapsack.

How are we going to travel down to New Orleans?

 

 

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Event, Re-enactment, Uncategorized, War of 1812, War Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

