LONGHUNTER 12, Well, I brought all my gear up tonight

LONGHUNTER 12

Well, I brought all my gear up tonight from our basement room and got it ready for New Orleans.  My wife won’t let me keep any of my reenactment equipment in the house. Really there is no room in the house for it and some of the uniforms have that old mellow smell. In other words they haven’t been cleaned in 3 years.

What can I say?  We are supposed to be authentic and you could smell armies back then before you saw them.

I have to get one more thing accomplished. I need to create a blanket roll that is easy to carry and tied up with leather ties.

Once I get that done, I will be truly ready.

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Event, Re-enactment, Uncategorized, War of 1812, War Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

