SACRED GROUND-Part 14

 

view down bloody laneAfter touring Bloody Lane we went to the Visitors Center and happened to be there when a Park Rangers provides a lecture behind the Center. The view from this vantage point allows one to see the North woods, the East Woods, the West Woods and all of Bloody Lane. The lecture was provided by Ranger Keith Snyder and was quite good. He brought to life the essence of the fighting with individual unit and soldier stories along with the battle chronology.

 

We moved around to the front of the Visitors Center to continue the lecture and I was enraptured with the description of the flanking of the Union 2nd Corps by the Confederates and the ensuing skedaddling that the Union Forces did.

 

Nancy had sat down and was waiting on me when I returned. She met me and said I needed to meet someone. I was intrigued, since we didn’t know a living soul in the area.  She introduced me to Walter Smith, who was a battlefield guide and volunteer at the Park.  We discussed the battle for a minute and I told him I had read 2 books and wanted to get back on the battlefield. I took his card and really didn’t think too much more about it. Mr. Smith did act very gentlemanly and was very gracious. He seemed to understand my nervous energy and bid us good-bye.

 

Little did I know that I had just met my mentor.  There is a lot to say for a woman’s intuition.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Antietam, Civil War and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

