150th Gettysburg Sojourn, Part 35

Confederate infantry, Civil War reenactors

Indeed, how do you describe such a sojourn as the 150th Gettysburg?

I can say it was the most-whirlwind reenactment that I have ever attended.

Up until last year, I had always leisurely driven or flown to the 135th, 140th or 145th Gettysburg and Antietam reenactments with my wife, and then rendezvoused with my Pards for the event. Then, she and I would either drive or fly back home.

Sojourn 35 SUV

This was the first time I had traveled 1070 miles by van in 18 hours; fought in 6 battle scenarios in 3 days; and returned 1070 miles back home in 17 hours.

Being in a military setting with veteran reenactors, and working toward a common goal with a sense of unit pride, is a very rewarding experience. It is quite a thrill when your unit performs a complex maneuver expertly, or your battalion fires 125 muskets at the same time and it sounds like one huge blast. It just gives you a sense of pride that is hard to find nowadays.

But first and foremost, you have to love the campaign trail. We don’t usually sleep in tents. General King finds us special projects that make these reenactments memorable. It ain’t easy, but you feel like you have accomplished something and proven yourself. It is really satisfying at the end to know you did your duty and contributed to the unit in a meaningful way.

Sojourn 35  cavalry

What did I like about the 150th Gettysburg Blue/Gray Alliance reenactment? I was glad it was finally back on the Bushey Farm. I enjoyed moving around and not spending each night in one camp. I loved the Culp’s Hill scenario. The Union breastworks were great with the Stars and Strips waving; their drums and fifes playing; and the numerous volleys they fired. I thought we did a great job in the Culp’s Hill assault. I got so caught up in the moment that I really got a feel of what the Rebs must have experienced in that fight.

What didn’t I like about the reenactment? The bottleneck created by the number of vehicles departing from the parking lot at the end of the last battle.

Will I go again for the 155th ? A definite YES.
Want to join me?

Vernon in confed uniform

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Civil War, Gettysburg, Re-enactment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

