The Other Side, Part 11

When my Spirit Guide and I had our next session, she asked me if I had chosen an Animal Spirit Guide and I said, “Yes.”

She told me not to tell her, or anyone else, what the animal was nor the name I had chosen for the animal. I acknowledged that I wouldn’t, and she asked me if the Animal Spirit Guide was there with me.

“Yes,” I answered.

Spirit Guide asked, “Where are you?”

“Just south of the East Woods and the Cornfield at Antietam.”

This is the field where the Confederates were stationed during the first part of the battle.

Once my Animal Spirit Guide and I started toward the place where I’d seen the men sit up out of the ground just on my last visit to this dimension, Confederate soldiers stood up out of the ground again!

Animal Spirit wandered among them, and they welcomed her. I raised my Symbol and told them I was there on an honorable mission to tell their story and the Symbol proved the truthfulness of my coming to them. They accepted what I said.

I asked, “Who are you, and what unit are you with?”

The numbers 41st and 61st sprang into my head. This confused me immensely.

Hartford Courant image

Headlines from the Hartford Courant tell of the casualties at Antietam.

Mahone’s Virginia Brigade had regiments with these numbers, but they were supposed to have fought south of this spot. There was a 61st Georgia regiment that fought in this area, but the 41st and 61st numbers came to me simultaneously.

I told this to Spirit Guide and she told me to ask more questions. So I asked who had sent them up here and they answered. A “Colonel Morgan” had ordered them to come here.

I just couldn’t wrap my mind around this information. It was baffling to me. There have been very diligent studies of the battle by historians, and it has been discovered where most all of the units, except for some of the artillery units, were located during the battle. The 41st and 61st Virginia weren’t in this area.

I finally had to ask Spirit Guide for us to leave, because I couldn’t believe these men were from the unit they indicated. So she took pity on me, and I put the soldiers back to their rest. I told Animal Spirit Guide that I would see her again very soon, and she went into the East Woods.

This exchange was to reshape my attitude completely.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Antietam, Civil War, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

