The Other Side, Part 12

Antietam photo

Present day view from the East Woods, near Poffenberger Lane, at the Antietam battlefield.

After coming back to the present, my Spirit Guide told me I needed to accept the information the soldiers were giving me. It might be that the historians had the movement of some of the units wrong during the battle.

I went on line after the call and researched the units and commanders. I didn’t find any corroboration of the information the soldiers had given. I was really doubtful of myself and of the information received.

On the next sojourn, I called to my Animal Spirit Guide. She came out of the East Woods to meet me. We had a few moments of getting to revel in our love for one another, and then we went back to the area where we had talked with the men on the previous call.

I asked the men to come talk with me again. A sergeant with a few blackened teeth – minus a few that were missing – came forward with four other men. Animal Spirit Guide wove her way through the men. She liked them, and they liked her. They showed no hostility toward her.

I asked the sergeant a few questions, but he sort of evaded giving any answers. Spirit Guide said to have the Animal Spirit Guide confront him. Instead I raised my Symbol and told the Sarge that I was only here to tell their story. I could tell that he didn’t believe me and was just playing with me. He suddenly told me to talk to one of the other men in their group if I wanted answers.

A young boy in a brown uniform came forward. He was beaten down and had a subservient attitude. I asked him some questions, but he was evasive also. I tried to get out of my mind that they couldn’t be with the 41st and 61st Virginia. I believed my mental attitude stopped me from really communicating with them.

I finally just couldn’t get through my mental baggage, and I let them go back in the ground.

As I turned to go, Animal Spirit Guide grabbed hold of the right sleeve of my uniform and pulled me toward to the East Woods. The name of the 10th Maine Regiment flashed in my mind. Once this happened, I knew where we would be going on the next sojourn. I said good-bye to Animal Spirit Guide, came back to the present, and said good-bye to my Spirit Guide.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Antietam, Civil War, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

