The Other Side, Part 16

My Spirit Guide and I got in touch again, and she asked if I was ready to go. I said yes and got relaxed. Immediately, I found myself standing in front of the East Woods at Antietam with my Symbol. My Animal Spirit Guide ran to me from the East Woods and I hugged her. She was really glad to see me.

Spirit Guide asked me if my Animal Spirit Guide was there. I said she was and was happy and hyper to visit the spirits.

Spirit Guide asked where we were going, and I said that we needed to visit the 10th Maine at Antietam Battlefield. She asked if we could ascend in the air again to view the battlefield from above. So, Animal Spirit Guide and I rose up in the air.

I tried to picture what the northern part of the battlefield looked like back on September 17, 1862. I couldn’t picture if fully. I did picture the East Woods a little better. The western boundary of the East Woods was a little more in focus.

We came back to earth and walked toward the East Woods. I came upon a wounded figure lying on the ground with his head propped up against a tree.

photo of Gen. Mansfield

Gen. Joseph Mansfield, USA

I looked at the face of the person, and my heart skipped a beat. I recognized Major General Joseph Mansfield. His facial features, white beard and head full of white hair were unmistakable. Spirit Guide felt my sudden surge of energy and asked me what I had seen. I told her it was Gen. Mansfield and related the following story:

Major General Mansfield was 60 years old and had been assigned command of the XII (12th) Union Corps just before the Battle of Antietam. He had never had a battlefield command. He had always been an administrative officer, but he longed to actually command a unit during an armed conflict.

During the Battle of Antietam, he had ridden close to the fighting in the East Woods and told the men in one of his forward units to stop firing at the troops to their front. He thought they were Union forces.
His men said they weren’t Union forces, and after a moment, Gen. Mansfield said they were right. Just about that time Gen. Mansfield was hit in the chest by a Confederate bullet.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Antietam, Civil War, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

