The Other Side, Part 20

I asked if anyone would like to share their story.

A short man jumped up clapped his hands once and said, “I would.” I asked his name and he said Jimmie Jones. I asked where he was from, and the name New Jersey appeared in my mind. I queried as to his hometown, and the name Trenton popped up. I asked how long he had been in the army, and he said 20 days. He sort of had the look of an Irishman. I asked if he had seen any action, and he became quiet.

historic photo of Union camp

Archives: Encampment at Antietam

There was an awkward silence among the men until one of his companions commented that he made a mean cup of coffee. I then asked Jimmie if he was the cook. He acknowledged that was sort of his job. Then he confessed he hadn’t done too well in the last fight and had been put in charge of the coffee making.

Spirit Guide wanted me to ask the name of the unit’s officers, but I didn’t feel like doing that. I already knew who their Corps Commander was (Major Gen. Mansfield) and who their Division Commander was (Brigadier Alpheus Williams).

Animal Spirit Guide walked up to the man squatting by the fire and licked him on the face. It sort of surprised him. He put down his cup; turned; hugged her and said, “how beautiful, how beautiful.” He picked up his cup again, turned back and looked into the fire.

I asked him what he planned to do once this war was over.
“Live,” he said. “Just live.”

There was a tall man with a black hat standing to the left of the fire. He asked, “Why are you here?” I reiterated I was there to learn, to share their stories, and to release them if they wanted me to.

He queried what I meant by “release.”

I told him, “The war has been over for a long time, and you men have done your duty by joining up to save the country.”
I told him they had an admirable job and there were friends and family waiting for them on The Other Side. I then vowed that if they would touch my Symbol, they could go there.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Antietam, Civil War, Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

