The Other Side, Part 25

 

It had been three weeks since I last visited The Other Side. In the interim, I had participated in the 150th Gettysburg Reenactment with other Comrades in Arms. We had a glorious time, but it took awhile for these old bones to recuperate.

At the next session, I got with Spirit Guide and went to The Other Side.  I walked toward the East Woods, as usual. Animal Spirit Guide ran to greet me. It had been a long time since we met. We had a wonderful time of showing our love for one another.

While at Gettysburg, I had seen an exact twin of the animal that had flashed in my mind when Animal Spirit Guide had indicated there might be another Animal to join us. I didn’t have time to approach him, but I tried to communicate with him. However, he was very spirited and really didn’t like all the soldiers who were in the area.  He just wanted to leave the congested hilltop that we were on. Also, I don’t think he cared very much for the Confederate artillery fire that erupted every now and then.  I did have a chance to admire him as he traveled into the distance.

Now this same animal emerged from the East Woods and came toward us.  I was in awe!

He came up to me and put his head against my chest. I rubbed his jaws and head and tried to transfer all the love I had in my heart toward him.  I think he truly felt it.

He then bent down and Animal Spirit Guide licked his nose. They were immediately in rapport.  I mentally asked his name and it came to me.

From this time forward I will have to indicate Animal Spirit Guide as ASG 1 and the new Animal Spirit Guide as ASG 2.

I asked ASG 2 where we were going. He told me to get on his back. Then all three of us were transported to a small shed on the east bank of the Antietam Creek. The shed had been transformed into an operating room of sorts.

A man who I believe to be a doctor had a soldier on a table and was twisting a clamp on the stub of his arm. The soldier’s arm had just been amputated.

Civil War surgeon

Library of Congress image: A field surgeon at work

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Antietam, Civil War, Spirits and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

