Civil War Transcendence, episode 3

A NOVEL OF TIME TRAVEL, Episode 3

1 Old Reb

The big question is: “How did I get here from the 21st century?”

After I recount that event – which takes a few twists and turns – we can proceed further.

I had planned to travel by car to western Maryland in September, 2012, to celebrate the 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Antietam/Sharpsburg . My wife couldn’t go with me because she had to help take care of her family in Little Rock, but she gladly acquiesced to me being out of the house for nine days.

I had put in for a vacation from work for the whole week of September 17th through the 21st. The people at work were happy to see me go, also. I had almost driven them crazy with historical facts about Antietam, and they were sick of hearing it! They thought that maybe I would be so tired after the trip of 2000 miles that I would at least give it a rest when I got back to work.

I had scrimped and saved so that I could start out Friday night the 14th of September and stay at the Red Roof Inn on the eastern side of Memphis. I began my sojourn at 1700 hours and arrived at the motel around 1945 hours. During the drive I had listened to various CDs of “Civil War Songs of the C.S.A.” by Bobby Horton and a few CDs by my cousin Barney Perkins, who I swear sounds just like Gene Autry. Anyway, it was a great beginning to the trip.

On Saturday I was on the road by 0630 hours and made Bristol, Tennessee at 1630 hours, where I stopped for the night. I had brought a set of audio mystery stories that kept me mentally occupied during the longest part of the trip…this 500 mile stretch across the Volunteer State of Tennessee. I almost stopped at Parker’s Crossroads Battlefield, which is about 20 miles east of Jackson, but I played down the urge so I could have more time to enjoy the Antietam area.

That night, I slept more soundly than I had in months. I was approaching my Sacred Ground, and I couldn’t wait to get there.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Civil War, Time Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

