Civil War Transcendence, part 7

§    A Novel of Time Travel

I know you are getting tired of all the gushiness that we history buffs experience when we get on a Civil War Battlefield. It makes most people not of our ilk want to puke.

We can’t help it. We’re warped, sort of like techno-geeks.

Well, I guess it doesn’t matter explaining the joy I had going to the battlefields. You probably wouldn’t understand.

But what happened next might be of interest to you.

I had been all over the Antietam Battlefield. I had traversed landscape that might be considered trespassing on private land. For example, I had walked all the way from the Piper House Bed and Breakfast east, following the old Piper Lane until it cross the lower part of the Sunken Road. Part of the Lane was privately owned.

No trespassing,

NO TRESPASSING!

I guess it was the same for the fenced-in fields where there were government signs stating it was property of the U.S. Government.  For instance, I had crossed over Hwy 65 from east to west; jumped a fence; entered the very northern part of the West Woods; and traversed that part of the woods to the clearing just before a small incline called Hauser’s Ridge.  This was where the Confederate Artillery deployed to hit Sedgwick’s Division of the Union 2nd Corps.

In neither instance did I get caught for trespassing. So, entering the park from the east after dark, by way of the old Smoketown Road, wasn’t such a stretch for me.

I had decided to rest for the night; tour more of the battlefield the next day; and implement my reconnaissance the next night.

So, I left the park and checked into a motel near Shepherdstown. I was beat, and after a beer and hamburger at the motel grill, I retired to my room and fell fast asleep.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Antietam, Civil War, Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

