Civil War Transcendence, part 11

§    A Novel of Time Travel

 

The air had a special tingle to it. I won’t say it was electrified, but it was like standing in meditation and feeling the energy flow between the palms of your hands.  Except, at this time, it felt as if the air was energized and flowed through everything in the woods!

I looked around but saw nothing. I knew the park service couldn’t allow an electric fence to be put on the property due to a possible accident to a visitor.

I continued moving forward, and then it happened.

In all the science fiction movies I’ve seen, a machine creates a wormhole with a blinding flash of light, or the power from an electrical storm has to be harnessed, or a near-death experience is utilized to transport the time traveler.  In the movies, all these people want to do take this trip.

All I can say is that fantasy is just great on the movie screen, but it isn’t in reality!

There was no lighting storm. There was no time machine. There was no near-death experience.

A glowing perfect circle of light with a diameter of about seven foot suddenly appeared on the floor of the woods and came toward me. It was rotating on an axis that connected the top and bottom of the circle.

I was scared out of my wits. My heart was suddenly in my throat. All I could think of was alien abduction.  I turned to run, tripped over a tree root and fell to the hard ground. All my 12 years of Aikido and learning how to fall went out the window.  I fell on my face and it knocked the breath out of me, but I was lucky. I had hit on soft dirt and not a tree root or a hard object.

Vernon Dutton

I staggered to my feet and turned toward the circle. In one of those moments where you are scared but perceive little weird things, I noticed the circle’s glow didn’t light up the whole woods.  It was as if the light from the circle was self-contained. The light didn’t project outward. It was sucked back into the circle.

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Antietam, Civil War, Time Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

