Civil War Transcendence, part 12

§    A Novel of Time Travel

 

The shock of seeing the apparition, and then hitting the ground like a ton of bricks, had robbed me of my breath. I was doubled over, with my hands on my knees, looking at the incomprehensible circle.

I finally gasped a lung-full of oxygen and stood up as the circle stopped in front of me.  I know that the hairs on the nape of my neck were standing straight up. I gasped again. It had advanced so quickly and was now right in front of me.

I know that my eyes were as wide as saucers, and I was like a deer frozen in the middle of the road caught in the headlights of an onrushing car.  But the circle just paused there in front of me.  I was scared to death, and yet fascinated!

The circle wasn’t really a circle. It was an orb; a sphere with a ring about six inches wide attached at the top and bottom of the sphere that rotated around the sphere. It was like one of those old globes that had a stand with a ring around the globe that allowed you to spin the globe while the ring was stationary.  Except in this case, the globe was stationary as the ring rotated.

The circle just stood there waiting.  I exhaled a breath that I didn’t know I had been holding and looked closer.  The right side of the circle, when the rotating ring reached a point where it was at the 90 degree/270 degree position, revealed an opening.  The ring’s movement was about one full rotation every 10 seconds.

As the ring’s rotation began to reach the above mentioned position, it advanced toward me. I backed up, but it came faster and the ring’s opening enveloped and pulled me inside like a scoop used to pick up popcorn at the movies.

As I entered the circle, I saw movement to my left. When my eyes focused on the object, I yelled, “NO!  HOW?”  The object was me, in the exact same set of clothes, moving in the opposite direction on the left side of the circle.

Alice through the looking glass.

Through the Looking Glass statue at Surrey, U.K.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Antietam, Civil War, Time Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

