Civil War Transcendence, part 23

CIVIL WAR TRANSCENDENCE
A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

First, I wanted to see what this guy was carrying on his person. I unbuttoned his coat and laid it open. The stench of his body odor immediately hit me in the face. It was sickening. However, I forced myself to rummage through his only coat pocket. I found a few coins amounting to about $2 dollars. I had never seen this type of money and took a few seconds to study them.

Union Knife Co. pocket knife

Union Knife Co. pocket whittler (1851 – 1885)

Next, I turned his trouser pockets inside out and found a folding knife, some twine, and a large key. On closer inspection, I found a knife with a four-inch blade and homemade leather scabbard stuck in the belt lining of his trousers. Taking stock of his valuables, I decided to take his folding knife, which was pretty generic. His long knife looked as if it could be recognized so I discarded it. I left him his coins, twine and key, also.

Lastly, I determined to wear his clothes. I stripped him of his coat and pulled his bracer straps (spenders) off his shoulders and down, so I could get his trousers off. I unbuttoned his fly buttons, and taking his trousers by the cuffs, pulled them off his body. His underwear, or drawers, were filthy! If I thought the body odor was bad before, now it was absolutely revolting. I didn’t want to even think about the stains that made up the majority of undergarments.

I unbuttoned the four buttons on the front of his shirt, which probably hadn’t been washed since Noah’s Flood, and manhandled it off him. Finally, I untied his brogan laces. They had so many knots in them, to repair breaks, that I wondered how they could really be laced up. I pulled the brogans off his feet. His socks had holes in the heels and toes on both feet. The toes that stuck through the holes had some sort of red rash on them. Needless to say, I left the socks on their master’s feet. My socks would provide a lot better coverage and would be well hidden in the brogans.

During this whole sequence the drunken man hadn’t moved. All the jostling didn’t elicit a groan, a moan or a sigh.

Then I began the monumental task of putting all his paraphernalia on. I took off my clothes except for my underwear, socks and t-shirt.

At that moment the stripped mule rider snuffled and sat straight up.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Antietam, Civil War, Time Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

