Civil War Transcendence: part 30

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

The room I was in was about ten feet by ten feet. There were wooden pegs in the far wall with clothes hung on them. They looked like the pants, bracers and coat I had purloined in Maryland. Brogans were on the floor below the clothes. My modern underwear, hat and mutilated t-shirt were draped over my coat.

In the corner was a small table with a stool under it and a candleholder with a short candle on top.

I got to my feet and felt very unsteady. I was lightheaded and had to sit down. After a few moments, I got up again and felt more stable. I walked toward the clothes pegs over a squeaky plank floor. I had just gotten to the pegs when the door opened.Coat Hook

“Well, it’s about time you got up,” a young woman said.

My mouth dropped open as I looked at this woman. She looked familiar. She was the one who had been yelling for help as she tried to pull me out of the river just before I passed out.

I stood there with my mouth wide open, and she started to laugh. I looked down and realized that I had dropped the blanket on the bed when I walked toward the clothes. I was standing before her buck-naked.

I beat a hasty retreat to the bed, grabbed the blanket, and wrapped it around me. She just continued to laugh. Whether it was my predicament, or my manly endowment, I couldn’t be sure.

She said, “Food’s ready when you want it. Bettah get dressed afore you come in though.”

Then, she just turned and left the room.

During my dressing process, I know I turned every shade of red thinking about what had just happened. I got my bracers affixed to my pants and donned all my clothes. Then, I put on my brogans. The clothes smelled as if they had been washed. I took a whiff of the hat. It still had a gamey reek, but not as bad as it did on the Maryland side of the river. I left it on one of the pegs.

I opened the door and went into the next room.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Civil War, Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

