Civil War Transcendence: part 34

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

This reminded me. I needed to find out the date and year I was in.

But first I needed to make the proper greeting. “Hattie, I’m pleased to make your acquaintance.”

She smiled. I couldn’t help but notice that she was missing a tooth in her lower front row.

Then I asked, “I’ve lost count of days. Could you tell me which day it is?”

“Why, it’s the 2nd of September,” she said.

“Just to make sure, what year?” I asked.

“1862,” she said. Then she eyed me again and asked, “Ya sure ya didn’t fall on your head instead get sick?”

I just chuckled and took another swig of coffee.

“What do I owe ya for taking such good care of me?” I asked.

“Ya had a good amount of cash on ya when you came into our care. It’s in your trousers on the hanger in the bedroom. I leave it up to you.”

It surprised me that the money I had kept with me wasn’t considered worthless or counterfeit. I thought I would have to trade manual labor for anything I owed her.

34 VA 10“I can’t remember the amount I had. I better recount it.” I got up and headed for the bedroom. I retrieved my trousers and pulled the money out of the left front pocket. There were two $20 bills and $10 bill. However, the real kicker was they weren’t my kind of U. S Treasury bills. They were U.S Treasury bills that had to be compatible with the 1860’s.

Hattie had said there was a good amount of cash on me when they found me, and these bills were totally different from the currency in my time.

I just sat there for a few moments in a quandary. How did my money change to this time period? Who was orchestrating this whole experience? Could I get back to my time and place?

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Civil War, Time Travel, War Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

