Civil War Transcendence: part 35

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

I walked over and sat down on the edge of the bed and put my head in my hands. I just sat there for a minute, trying to figure things out and getting nowhere.

Hattie stuck her head in the door and said, “It’s all thar, ain’t it?”

I looked up and said, “I had no doubts it would be.”

I had a sudden inspiration and asked, “Do y’all rent out rooms?”

“Not usually, but that thar room ain’t being used at this time, and we need the money.”

“Would ya rent it to me for a month, while I get back on my feet?”

“Yeah, I guess we can.”

“Would $10.00 for the month, including breakfast and dinner, plus fixing my clothes be okay?” I offered.

“Yeah, I reckon that would do me okay.”

I had another thought and said, “Ya keep referring to ‘We’ all the time. Who’s We?”

“Papa; my brothers, A.B. and C.D.; plus my sisters, Jewel and Poppie,” she declared.

“Are all of ‘um located in this house?” I asked.

“Nope, only me, Papa and my brothers. My sisters are married and scattered around the area, “she volunteered.

“Where’s your Papa and bothers?” I inquired.

“They’d be in the mill, grinding corn for meal. I hope that’s all your questions. I have done spent a heap of time yackin’ with ya. I need to get some chores done. Why don’t you go for a walk and get some of your strength back? The town’s just about a half mile that away.” She pointed northwest.

“And by the way,” she continued, “ya mentioned you’s a teacher. The old scrawny teacher we did have done got run off by some of the mean boys in his class. So there might be a job open fur ya.”

School Class“Okay, who’s the person I need to talk to about the teaching job?” I asked.

“It twould be the bank president. He’s sort of the hiring and firing high muckety-muck for the school. He’s located in the bank. Ya can’t miss it. It’s on German Street and close to the edge of town closest to us.”

“Well, I better get fully dressed and see what will transpire,” I said.

I put on my coat; had Hattie take a look at my outfit (which she declared was adequate): and leaving my weathered hat behind, lit out for town.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Civil War, Time Travel, War Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

