Civil War Transcendence: Part 40

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

I walked to the main intersection at the top of the hill. There was nothing much on the other side of the road, which was the west side of town. If I crossed over the road heading west, I would ultimately come to Martinsburg, VA.

I decided to turn left and walk south. After a few minutes I got my breathing and heart rate under control.

Again I asked, “What was going on?”

I walked to where a small cemetery was located by the dirt road I was on. I stopped and entered the cemetery through its iron gates and sat down on dry green grass under a big oak tree in the back of the cemetery. I put my head in my hands and took stock of all that had happened.

First, I had gotten thrown back in time, and not of my own accord.

Secondly, the general area in which I entered this time frame was the same place I had been when the time travel took place.

My wrist watch had stopped, but my money had changed to the currency acceptable in this time period.

My Grandmother had shown up here in Virginia, instead of Alabama. I had pegged her age as about 18 in this time travel year of 1862. She actually turned 18 in 1918. Therefore, she has shown up three generations before she should have been on this earth…and 1000 miles north of Alabaster, AL, which was her home town in 1918.

But the biggest problem was: All the events of this time period were completely different from the history I had learned in school.

I kept saying to myself, “How can this be? It doesn’t make any sense. Have I lost my mind? Have I been hurt and in a coma dreaming all this? What was that Orb that put me in time? Am I the victim of an alien abduction? Am I in sort of a test tube to see how I will react?”

After spending some time wallowing in self-pity, I leaned back against the tree. I quit trying to figure out my plight. I just looked at the beautiful tree above me, the beautiful green grass of the cemetery, and the trees and unique houses on the other side of the road. It was such a serene landscape.

I had passed only two wagons moving toward town when I set out down his road. There were no vehicles moving in the immediate area. It was quiet, and all you could hear was the call of birds and insects making their presence known. Occasionally a cow would make a sound in the distance.

I must have sat there for what I estimated was 15 minutes. I wished I had purchased a watch at the Hardware Store or the Apothecary. I needed to know the time of day and see if the normal daily activities were somewhat the same for this time frame.Parallel Universes

It was then that it hit me. A long time ago I had seen a science fiction movie starring Bruce Willis with a unique premise. I couldn’t quite pull the concept out of my mind. It was at the edge of my consciousness, or you might say, on the tip of my tongue.

Then it emerged, full blown, in my mind: Parallel Universes.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Civil War, Time Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

