Civil War Transcendence, Part 53

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

 

It took about an hour for the Widow Hawkins to bestow her knowledge of the sequence of the War in 1861 plus her options of the various political figures, generals, newspaper owners, journalist, novelists, and abolitionists.

She didn’t cotton too much to the novel “Uncle Tom’s Cabin” or the Abolitionists who, in her estimation, were the cause of the War.

Whatever happened to John Brown?

Whatever happened to John Brown?

I wanted to know if John Brown had raided Harpers Ferry in 1859, so I asked if Harper’s Ferry had been the scene of any action prior to the Civil War. She said “no” and that the Confederate army under Jackson had occupied it in 1861.  The site had been in the hands of the Confederates ever since.

I then mentioned that in Arkansas we had heard that, at one time, John Brown had targeted Harpers Ferry for a raid. The Widow responded that he may have, but he was killed in southeastern Kansas in 1859 by a band of Missouri Militia. She couldn’t remember the leader of the Militia Unit, but the eradication of John Brown was heralded as a great accomplishment in the South.

After a few more pleasantries, we walked back into the boarding house where I profusely thanked her for the historical update, shook her proffered hand, and went to my room.

My roommate had not arrived yet, so I undressed and helped myself to the bed, which thank goodness, didn’t have any bedbugs. I slept pretty soundly through the night, which was remarkable due to the strange surroundings and my worrisome situation.

I woke at dawn to a bell ringing, which I instantly surmised was the call to breakfast. I looked around the room and comprehended that my supposed roommate had not made it back from his foray into the licentious side of town.

I quickly poured water into a wash basin and washed my face. I smelled my shirt and it didn’t have too bad a fragrance, so I dressed, ran fingers through my hair and sought the dining room.

I was ready for a good breakfast.

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Civil War, Time Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

