Civil War Transcendence, part 75

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

 

I walked up behind Daphne and gently picked her up by the shoulders. She let go of the trooper’s hand as I raised her up. I know it was scandalous to touch a 19th century young woman that I had just met, but I had to get her away from this scene.

She stopped crying and was looking down at the dead youth. I gradually turned her to face her horse and softly urged her forward. She almost lost her balance when she took her first step, but I was able to keep her on her feet.

She quickly recovered and said,” I’m fine.”

I let her go, and she continued toward her horse. Captain Mosby was holding the reins and he gave her a leg up to mount her horse. He suggested that she proceed to her house. We would join her later tonight. She nodded. I took the gesture as a “thank you” for the help mounting her horse Lula Belle, and that she acquiesced to his suggestion.

She looked at him and rasped, “He was so young.”

The Captain just bowed his head replied, “Yes, he was.”

As she turned to go, the Captain motioned to one of the troopers and ordered him to accompany her home.

The Captain then asked what I planned to do. I replied that I would meet them for dinner and asked where Ms. Newcomer’s family resided. He indicated I couldn’t miss the Newcomer house. It was the big two story house right by the road, about a mile east of Harper’s Ferry on School House Ridge.

I thanked him and asked if I would see him at the family’s home. He indicated that he wouldn’t miss a meal at the Newcomer’s for all the money in the world. He just wished his wife had been invited. She would have considered it the event of the year.

I then asked what he was going to do now. He stated that the prisoners and their equipment would have to be handed over to the Provost Marshal in Harper’s Ferry, the wounded turned over to the Army surgeon, and the bodies given to the local mortuary for burial. He asked what I was going to do. I thought a minute and said that I had to return my steed to its owner and procure the noble horse that I was originally riding.

This seemed to momentarily baffle the Captain, but he finally laughed and said, “I must see this noble steed you have referred to. He must be something, if he is any better than the horse you are riding now. See you at the Newcomer’s.”

"Civil War Horse" from Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Washington, D.C. 20540 USA. Licensed under Public domain via Wikimedia Commons.

“Civil War Horse” from Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Washington, D.C. 20540 USA. Licensed under Public domain via Wikimedia Commons.

 

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

