Civil War Transcendence, part 87

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

 

There was enough to deal with at the present moment.  I decided to save the question of my Grandfather for another day.

Once the dinner was completed, the men and boys all gravitated to the parlor while Mrs. Newcomer and Daphne went out on the porch. Ahab offered cigars and brandy to Captain Mosby, Mr. Newcomer and me.  The Newcomer brothers were denied the cigars, but were offered a smidgen of brandy.

87 brandy cigar

In years passed, I had smoked cigars and a pipe, but had gotten to where the tobacco made me sick to my stomach.  I graciously turned down the cigar, but accepted the brandy. I sipped it judiciously while listening to Captain Mosby’s opinion of how the War was progressing. The Newcomer boys were hanging on his every word. They couldn’t get enough of his supposedly insider information.

I couldn’t help but steal a glance at Ahab during this recitation. He seemed to be taking it all in as he performed his duties of supplying us with the after dinner niceties.

It had turned dark by now, and Mr. Newcomer suddenly asked, “Mr. Hager have you made any provision for where to stay tonight?”

“I was going to proceed back to Harper’s Ferry for tonight,” I replied, “and then resume my trip back to Shepherdstown tomorrow.”

He said, “Nonsense. You will stay with us tonight and resume your trip from here tomorrow.”

Too tired to argue, I inclined my head to him and thanked him for his extremely friendly offer and accepted.

Mr. Newcomer proposed that we join the ladies on the porch.

When we went out on the porch, Captain Mosby thanked the Newcomers profusely for the wonderful dinner, but said he had a report to write and had to check on his troops.

Ahab, who seemed to be able to read minds, had already had the Captain’s horse brought around to the front of the house.

Captain Mosby shook hands with Mr. Newcomer and the boys.  One could tell from their facial expressions, the boys considered the captain as their personal hero.

When the Captain turned to me, I said I would appreciate it if I could walk down the lane a ways with him.

He smiled and said, “Gladly.”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Spirits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment