Civil War Transcendence, part 92

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

92 fistI was so mad at being grabbed like a common criminal when I was just trying to assist the lady into the house that I let loose with a primal scream and reacted out of instinct.

I reached with my left hand and clamped it over Ahab’s hand. I then turned quickly to my right to face him. I was lucky that Ahab had grabbed me with his right hand.  My turning to the right had crimped his right wrist.

He conveniently moved in a right circle to relieve the pressure on his wrist. I continued to move to my right in a tighter circle so that I ended up behind his right elbow. At that position I just looped my left elbow over his extended right arm and went to my knees.

I heard a crack and a cry of pain.

I knew that I had either broken his right wrist or right elbow.  I let go of his hand and arm, but quickly shifted my hands to the back of his right arm and pushed his arm down to the ground while putting all my weight on his extended right arm.

Ahab was face down on the ground and yelling bloody murder.  We were quickly joined by the Newcomer household. One of them had a lantern and everyone was asking what all the uproar was about.

I had reacted so quickly, I didn’t know what had happened to Daphne.  I searched the scene for her and saw her at the edge of the lantern light. She was as white as a sheet with one hand clinched in a fist over her mouth and the other hand on her chest as if she was experiencing a heart attack. Her eyes were wide with terror while looking at me kneeling on Ahab’s arm and hearing his yells.  She seemed to be regarding me like a horror from some deep, dark dungeon who was meting out torture to her family bodyguard.

Ahab was yelling that his wrist was broken and to let him up.  Mr. Newcomer put his hand on my shoulder and said to let him up.  I released Ahab’s arm and stood up. I backed away three paces and went up on the balls of my feet ready for his attack, which I expected to happen immediately.

Ahab got to his feet holding his wrist and stared at me with a hate that could have burned a cauldron of demons. I knew I had just made an enemy who would find any way he could to kill me.

Mr. Newcomer said for Bessie to attend to Ahab and told the rest of us to go into the house.  Bessie and Ahab retired toward the kitchen. I made sure that Ahab was moving away from me before I followed the Newcomers into the house.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

