Civil War Transcendence, part 94

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

 

“Crudely?” Mr. Newcomer yelled.

“You just broke the arm of the best and most trusted servant of this household. His prowess in fighting and his brute strength has protected our family for 20 years, and you come here and break his arm in a matter of minutes?!” he roared.

I stood to my feet.

When I did, the two Newcomer boys did the same. Tom took one step toward me, but the malevolent stare I gave him stopped him in his tracks.

I turned my attention to Mr. Newcomer and uttered through gritted teeth, “I did it in a matter of seconds, not minutes.” And turning my attention back to Tom I continued, “And, if anyone ever again unjustifiably lays hands on me, it won’t just be a broken wrist they will receive.”

I turned back to Mr. Newcomer, bowed and declared, “I expect I will be leaving now.”

I turned to Mrs. Newcomer and Miss Daphne, bowed and uttered, “Ladies,” and then walked out of their house with the most satisfied feeling I had ever had in my life.

In my old 21st Century, if I had reacted the way I had to an unjustified attack on my person, I would probably be talking to the police right now, or worst be in handcuffs.  I guess there were some perks in this version of the 19th Century.

94 horse sleeping

Once I walked down the steps to the house, I walked over to Beau, who had been fast asleep on his feet, and untied him from the tree. He roused himself as I mounted, and I pointed him back to Harpers Ferry. I didn’t prod him into his famous back breaking trot, but just let him mosey along. I took a few deep breaths and began to ponder why I had responded the way I had.

I had just reacted without any thought for my safety, which normally would predicate any actions I took. I didn’t even worry if I died or not. Also, the feelings I had experienced for Daphne Newcomer were well off the charts from my normal subdued sentiments. In that regard, I guess my altercation with Ahab had quelled any further communication with Ms. Newcomer.  But I really didn’t care. It wasn’t a life and death alternative if I lost her.

As we plodded down the road, I don’t believe I had ever had such freedom, such an unfettered attitude toward life. It was as if a great weight had been lifted off my shoulders.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

