Civil War Transcendence, part 95

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

95_full_moon

There was a full moon with no clouds, so I could see the road well enough to keep Beau moving in the right direction.

I came to where the road branches off to the north and passes the Confederate outpost on Bolivar Heights, where I first met Captain Mosby.  On a whim I turned Beau in that direction, hoping that the Captain hadn’t finished his report and gone to his lodgings in Harpers Ferry, yet.

I had to tell someone what had happened. It had finally hit me what I had done. I had made an enemy of the most prominent man in the area. My name will be notorious in a matter of days, and I will probably be kicked out of the day school job in Shepherdstown within the week.

Kicking Beau furiously got him into his famous sacroiliac-destroying trot. In just a few minutes, I arrived at the Confederate outpost.

I got down off Beau, who let out a long sigh and immediately went to sleep.  I really didn’t believe it until I walked around to tie his reins to the hitching post and saw that his eyes were closed.   After hearing his wheezing breath, I just shook my head and turned to go up the outpost stairs to the porch.

There was a new soldier on guard at the door who immediately positioned his musket to guard the door and demanded to know what I wanted. I replied that I wanted to see Captain Mosby if he was still on the premises.  The soldier replied that he was busy writing his report to the Colonel. I asked if I could see him for just a moment and that it wouldn’t take much of his time. He smirked and said that was not possible.

I immediately took a position as if I was standing at attention and said, “Listen Private, I am the person that reported the Yank cavalry in the area today and accompanied the Captain on the skirmish. I need to see the Captain without further delay. Do I make myself clear?”

This really got the soldier’s attention, and to my delight, wiped the smirk off this face. He told me to wait on the porch while he went in to get Mosby.

I fidgeted around on the porch for a few moments.  Finally Captain Mosby walked out on the porch and without any preliminaries asked, “What are you doing here? I figured you would be wooing Miss Newcomer as we speak.”

I blurted out, “I broke Ahab’s arm.”

Mosby bellowed, “You did what? This is not the time for a joke of this nature.”

I returned, “It’s true.”

Mosby said, “Well you better come inside and let’s talk.”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

