Civil War Transcendence, part 99

All the years of being bullied in grade school; of being unable to fight back except in football practice; of being the butt of jokes because of social ineptness; and now men hitting defenseless women welled up in me to the point that all reason was thrown to the winds. I cared not for my safety or survival. All I wanted to do was to avenge myself and the people who were being tortured in that barn.

I suddenly rushed forward to the barn door, slid through the small opening, brought both pistols up in front of me and yelled, “What is going on here?”

I couldn’t see a thing in the dark gloom of the barn. Inside of a Barn

Two figures in black turned toward me. I had taken them totally by surprise.

As my vision became accustom to the darkness, I could see the three Throckmortons tied up to the fencing of a horse stall. One of the boys was sagging forward as if he were unconscious.

I felt overpowering hatred for these terrorists, for these oppressors, for these cowards. Hot anger, a zeal I had never known, flashed through me like a white-hot branding iron.

The two men initially looked at me with mouths agape, but quickly recovered and began to draw their pistols.

All I wanted to do was to hurt them. No! What I wanted to do was kill them.

I pointed the Navy Colts at them and pulled the triggers. There was a tremendous explosion. One of the men was hurled backwards and the other was spun around.

The one who was spun around faced me with a useless right arm hanging down to his side.

He screamed in rage, “You again. You ain’t getting away this time.”

He pulled one of his pistols from his belt with his left hand, pointed it at me and fired. I was shocked that he reacted so quickly.

I felt the bullet nick my right ear. The pain jolted me out of my stupor. Pure fear and the survival instinct took over now.

I cocked both my Colts and pulled the triggers simultaneously. The man was lifted off his feet and thrown backwards. He came to rest on his back and didn’t move.

The other man I had hit never stirred.

The Widow Throckmorton began crying and praising God for their deliverance. Caleb asked me to untie them and help tend to Joshua. I also heard Sampson’s
familiar whinny from his stall in the recesses of the barn.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

