Civil War Transcendence, part 104

CIVIL WAR TRANSCENDENCE 104

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

 

I knew I needed to eat some food.  But the combination of the shootout, the Marshal’s interrogation, and the thought of Seaborne Gill seeking revenge proved to be too exhausting.  Caleb was of the same mind. I propped a chair against the bedroom’s door knob, and we both flopped in the bed and we were immediately asleep.

We both awoke about 6:00 the next morning. Sluggishly we washed our faces and ran a comb through our hair.  We staggered down the hotel stairs and ambled to the doctor’s office.  We banged on the door and were shushed by the doctor.

Mrs. Throckmorton had tended to Joshua during the night and had been relieved in her machinations by the doctor around 5:00am. She was asleep on a couch in the doctor’s office, and he wanted her to get some rest.

We retired to the doctor’s office and were told that Joshua had rested well during the night. He hadn’t regained conscious, yet. The doctor was going to evaluate him when he woke up.  He told us we might as well get some breakfast and return to his office when we were finished.

104 ham n eggs

Caleb and I returned to the hotel and entered the dining room. In one corner Captain Mosby was seated by himself. Once he saw me, he motioned us over. I introduced him to Caleb, and we sat down at his table.  Almost immediately a waitress brought coffee, hominy grits, biscuits, gravy, eggs sunny-side-up, and ham steaks. Caleb and I lit into the victuals like ravenous jackals.

Captain Mosby eyeballed us for a moment and in a low voice said, “What is this I hear about a gun fight at a farm on the River Road?”

I shrugged my shoulders and looked at the Captain with an “I don’t know” look on my face.

Caleb quickly came to my rescue and related the essence of the story.  When he got to where we were interrogated by the Marshal, Captain Mosby suddenly sat up in his seat.

I stopped Caleb and reiterated the Marshal’s interrogation and that I had used Captain Mosby’s name when the Marshal had asked for the pistols.  I asked, “Why is he so scared of you? You should have seen his face when I mentioned your name.”

Captain Mosby grinned and responded, “It is a good thing that you did use my name. You don’t know who the Marshal is, do you?”

“No”, I answered.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

