Civil War Transcendence, part 105

“The marshal’s name is Owen Gill,” said Captain Mosby. “He is kin to Jones Gill, or should I say, he was kin to Jones Gill, who you eliminated so well.

“I believe the marshal is a Unionist, and the reason the Yankee cavalry unit we intercepted was down in this area was to rendezvous with Owen Gill and get information about our Confederate outposts.

“The marshal and I had a confrontation when he bamboozled some of my troopers into jail for some loud drinking at one of the local saloons. I put the fear of God in him by entering his jail and poking him a few times with my saber to get my men out. That was the last time he rode rough-shod over my troopers. He knows I will kill him if he does it again.

“I also believe he was in cahoots with Jones Gill and got a cut of every robbery that Jones Gill instigated. According to the local residents, he was living high on the hog when Jones Gill was running wild in this region. Brand new boots, expensive cigars, a new saddle and two new horses were just a few things he was able to afford supposedly on a town marshal’s salary.

“He must have thought since Jones Gill and his brother got out of jail that things would be like old times. But I guess you sort of brought that to an end. I can say that as long as our cavalry troop is in Harpers Ferry that the Gill gang won’t try anything around here, but you better be careful once you get back in Shepherdstown.”

I stared at the Captain for a moment and let his information soak in.

The Captain turned to Caleb and said, “Caleb, I would appreciate it if you would keep all this information to yourself. I know you are a patriot and can be trusted, but we are still keeping an eye on the marshal and want to catch him red-handed passing information to the Yankees. I would love to hang him for treason along with his whole clan.”

Caleb nodded his acceptance and stated, “You can rely on me, Captain.”

I finally came to my senses after contemplating what Captain Mosby said. I leaned forward and asked, “What can I do to help?”

The Captain grinned and rejoined, “Be on the lookout for anything out of the ordinary, anyone acting differently, anyone that is new in town. Shepherdstown has a lock on the C&O Canal and a shallow ford on the Potomac River. It is an important place and well worth the effort of a Yankee raid. So keep vigilant, and if you think something is out of kilter, have the local telegraph office contact me or else send a rider to our outpost.”105 ford sign

I nodded my assent. We all stood and shook hands. Then Caleb and I left for the doctor’s office.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Civil War, Time Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

