Civil War Transcendence, part 109

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

 

Daphne saw the look on Ahab’s face and yelled, “Stop.”

The loud utterance must have jolted Ahab, because as he had started a move toward me he suddenly faltered and had to catch himself to keep from stumbling while looking at Daphne.

Daphne had come to her feet and moved between Ahab and me. She put her hands on his chest and said in a low voice, “I am alright, Ahab. Mr. Hager has not hurt me.”

Ahab stammered, “But your eyes are red and he has made you cry.”

Daphne replied, “I have been crying, but the tears are tears of joy. We will talk on the way home.”

Ahab’s face suddenly took on a protective look of a father. Then he acquiesced, “Yes, Miss Daphne, we will talk later.”

At that moment, Caleb came into the room and beheld all of us standing in an awkward silence.  He asked, “Is everything okay?”

During Ahab’s entrance and his faulting move toward me, I had moved out of my chair and to my left, which had turned over the chair with a bang as I came to my feet. I had my pistol in my right hand pointed toward Ahab, but Daphne had come between us.

When Caleb asked his question, I had lowered the pistol to my side.  I know he saw the pistol, but he waited for me to say something. I couldn’t help but see a very long knife held in his left hand, which he held next to his left leg.  I raise my eyebrows at the weapon, because during our time together, I thought he was totally unarmed.

109 cold steel

I nodded to him that everything was okay. He nodded back and left the room.

Ahab looked up at me and his facial features went from one of endearment to a hard stare. Then he asked, “Is it true you killed Jones Gill?”

“Yes”, I answered in a cold voice.

Again he queried, “Is it true you saved the Throckmorton’s by doing this?”

Daphne turned toward me to see my response.  I just nodded in affirmation to his second question.

Daphne smiled at me and said, “I didn’t know you saved a family when you shot Jones Gill.”

“He and one of his gang were hurting my friends. It made me mad. I had to help,” I stammered.

Daphne’s smiled widened and her face took on a heavenly light. The pistol suddenly seemed to weigh a ton and I felt weak in the knees.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

