Civil War Transcendence, part 116

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

Lies

The night passed without incident, and the next morning we prepared to move Joshua back to the Throckmorton farm.

We had carried Joshua from Doc Morton’s office to the buckboard and were getting ready to leave when Marshal Gill suddenly appeared and asserted, “Where do you think you’re going?”

He had his deputy, plus one other man as back up. They were armed to the teeth.

I was suffering from dull pains from the gunshot wounds and was in no mood to parlay with this slippery character. But it was three against one, so I answered, “Well Marshal, Joshua has healed enough for travel so we were going to transport him back home.”

“What did you have to say for yourself about yesterday?” he questioned.

“Not much.” I replied. “I saw Mrs. Throckmorton and Caleb were in trouble and when to their aid.”

“That’s not the way I heard it,” he rejoined.

“Well then, you heard it wrong,” I snapped.

I definitely hated this poor excuse for a lawman and would give anything to pistol whip him within an inch of his life.

The Marshal and his backups had surprised us, and I hadn’t had a chance to unbutton my coat and get my hands on my pistols. Being at such a disadvantage, I quickly probed, “What did you hear and from whom?”

The Marshal grinned and stated, “I heard you jumped two men in the hotel and shot them in cold blood.”

“That’s a lie,” Mrs. Throckmorton interjected. “If Jim hadn’t come to our rescue, there’s no telling what those kinfolk of yours would’ve done.”

The Marshal turned beet red and barked, “You keep out of this.”

Mrs. Throckmorton mouthed right back at him, “I won’t keep out of this. And another thing, why haven’t you found the blackhearts that robbed and beat my husband. They hurt him so much he died of consumption.”

This was news to me.

I turned looked at Mrs. Throckmorton and then faced the Marshal with a quizzical look on my face. We all waited for an answer.

Much to his credit the Marshal countered, “We ain’t dealing with that right now.” He looked at me and said, “You better come down to the jail with me.”

Just at that moment Captain Mosby and about 10 of his troopers rounded the corner. I surmised they were probably going out on patrol.

I waved and yelled at the top of my voice, “Captain Mosby.”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

