Civil War Transcendence, part 119

I slept on the floor in Joshua’s and Caleb’s room. Believe it or not, I think I passed out. I really got some good sleep for the first time in about a week.

I felt great when Mrs. Throckmorton got us all up at about 5:00 am. We had a great breakfast: eggs sunny side up, biscuits and honey, gravy, and ham steaks. I was so stuffed that I must have waddled from the table instead of walking.

The Throckmorton’s neighbors had really helped take care of the farm, cattle and horses while we were gone. That included Beau, bless his little back-breaking heart.

I saddled Beau, and he was in his usual sullen mood when he has to travel. Then I tied him to a tree in the front yard.

As I was getting all my paraphernalia put on the saddle, all the Throckmortons came out on the porch. Mrs. Throckmorton and Caleb came down the front stairs to see me off. Joshua just rested against a porch post.

Mrs. Throckmorton gave me a letter and asked if I could deliver it to her brother-in-law, Mr. Elias Throckmorton, the Shepherdstown banker. I graciously assented and asked if there was anything else I could do for her. Suddenly, she hugged me and thanked me for all I had done for her family. I blushed and really didn’t know what to say.

I just nodded and said, “If you ever need me, you know where to find me.”

She turned and went up the porch stairs, dabbing her eyes with her apron. Caleb and I shook hands and just looked deeply in each other’s eyes and nodded. We knew if we were ever in trouble, we could count on each other.

Beau, aka "the Shepherdstown Flash"

Beau, aka “the Shepherdstown Flash”

Joshua just waived as I mounted “the Shepherdstown Flash” and rode out of the front yard. I headed Beau on the River Road toward Hattie’s place.

It had been one heck of a week. It seemed like a month since I left for Harpers Ferry. I doubt that much had changed since I left, due to the slow 19th Century pace of life.

Man, was I in for a surprise.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

