Civil War Transcendence, part 125

Thank the Lord for youthful exuberance and stupidity.

Jeremy Sage picked me up in a bear hug. However, we were about the same height, so he had to arch backward to lift my feet clear of the ground.

This allowed me to bring my knees up to my chest. I abruptly brought my center of gravity downward, and that caused Jeremy to become unbalanced. It also allowed me to take one step forward at 45 degrees to the left. I simultaneously brought my hands up and then hammered them down on Jeremy’s forearms. This broke his hold on me.

Once free from his grasp, my left hand found Jeremy’s left elbow, and my right hand grabbed the back of Jeremy’s left wrist and turned it 90 degrees toward the fleshy part of his forearm. Next, I pushed Jeremy’s left elbow straight up while holding his wrist in a 90 degree angle to his forearm.

125 wrist grabI then shifted my weight to my right leg and pivoted 180 degrees so Jeremy and I were face to face. However, his left arm was jacked up in the air with his left elbow pushed so high that all his weight was on his right leg, and the toes of his left foot were barely touching the ground.

I was anticipating that Jonah would come to the aid of his brother. So, when I heard him let out a huff and start toward us, I suddenly brought Jeremy’s arm down while stepping back. This brought him off balance so much so that he was bent over at the waist. I quickly moved behind him, pinned his arm behind his back and pushed him into his gangly brother who was speeding toward us.

Jeremy’s head and right shoulder caught Jonah just below the knees.

There was a loud clunk. Jeremy went down like a polled ox, and Jonah was airborne again. He landed flat on the ground, face down. It rattled his cage, and he began to moan.

I have to hand it to Jeremy. He must have had a hard head, because he came to and began moaning also. I figured he would be out for at least 10 minutes.

I walked over to Jonah; rolled him over; slapped him awake; put my fingers below his eyes; and said, “If you ever give me any more trouble, you will wish you were never born. Do you understand me?”

In his semi-conscious state he nodded in the affirmative.

“Promise me you will do what I tell you!” I declared.

“I promise.”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

