Civil War Transcendence, part 126

“Okay,” I said. “Now get up.”

Jonah struggled to his feet and shook his head a few times.

“Now go over to Ms. Newcomer and apologize for any disrespect you showed her.”

He really didn’t want to do that, but I fixed him with a hard stare, and he shrugged acquiescence.

All of the students had filed out of the school to see the show and were standing in the yard in front of the school. He searched the sea of student faces for Peggy. Once he found her, he walked over to her with a sheepish look on his face and said in a low voice, “I apologize for pulling your hair.”

126 dramaPeggy had a look of utter amazement on her face. She looked at me, and I just nodded to her. She looked at Jonah, who looked down at the ground probably expecting a rebuke. Instead Peggy said, “Your apology is accepted.”

Jonah looked up and grinned from ear to ear. He looked as if all the burdens in the world were lifted from his being. I suddenly realized that Jonah was in love with Peggy.

Jonah finally stammered, “It ain’t gonna happen again.”

“Isn’t,” I corrected.

Jonah looked over at me and then back at Peggy. He restated, “It isn’t gonna happen again.”

Peggy just nodded. She looked closely at Jonah; I suspect for the first time. He turned scarlet, then she smiled and he laughed.

I called to Jonah to come help with getting Jeremy on his feet. We picked him up, walked him back into the school house and sat him down in his seat. I made Jeremy look at me. I could see he was a little groggy, but his eyes didn’t show that he might have a concussion. I had brought a canteen of water from Hattie’s and gave Jeremy a drink. He felt better after a few moments. How quickly youth heal!

I passed out sheets with questions that I had prepared for the class and asked them to answer the questions as best as they could. I then motioned for Jonah and Jeremy to follow me outside.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

