Civil War Transcendence, part 143

One of the servant girls pointed to the parlor on the left side of the hall running to the back of the house from the foyer.

I rushed into the parlor. Daphne was lying on a long divan. Her dress was rumbled and she was holding a white rag to her forehead. I immediately went to her side, knelt down, took her other hand in both of mine and said, “Darling, are you hurt badly?”

She opened her eyes and said groggily, “I’m okay. One of the servant girls landed on my lap and her hand must have hit me in my forehead. I have a lump, but I’m okay.”

She took the white rag off her head and there was a lump the size of a walnut just above her right eye.

I said, “I am so sorry that I caused you such harm. I feel like a fool.”

I took the white rag from her and felt that it was wet. I looked around and saw a pan full of water at the end of the divan. I dipped the rag in the water, squeezed out the excess water, and reapplied it to her forehead. She had closed her eyes when I took the rag from her and I felt her body tremble slightly when I reapplied the wet rag to her forehead.143 pitcher

With her eyes closed she asked, “Did you get him?”

I was taken back by her question, but I admitted, “Yes, I did.”

“Good,” she muttered.

She must have been totally exhausted with all the night’s goings-on, plus the robbery and the wild carriage ride, because she went to sleep immediately. I kissed her hand and looked up to see two servant girls with astonished looks on their faces witnessing this display of affection. I cleared my throat and placed Daphne’s hands at her side. Then, looking at the servant girls, I put my finger to my lips and whispered, “One of you, please stay and take care of her. I need to see how everyone else is doing.”

One of the girls said, “I’s gonna stay wit her.”

I pointed at the other girl and said, “Can you take me to Mrs. Douglas?”

She nodded her assent and I followed her out of the room.

We went across the hall to the other parlor. Mrs. Douglas was helping a few servant girls attend to Willie. I looked over her shoulder and saw that she was helping put a splint on his left arm. I waited until they had finished and, when she turned around, I apologized for causing such injury to the passengers of the carriage.

Her jaw dropped and she stammered, “Thank God, you are all right. I thought the robber shot you.”

I dropped my head and said, “No, it was me that shot him. I didn’t realize it would spook the team and cause such injury to everyone. Again, I apologize.”

It took a moment for her to assimilate the information that I provided. Then she said, “Did you get him?”

Apparently, the Newcomer family thought alike.

“Yes ma’am.” Then I ventured, “How did Willie get hurt?”

“One of the two servant girls fell on him. Both servant girls suffered bruised backs, but I don’t think either of them was seriously hurt. However, I ‘spect they will be on light service for a while. Have you checked on Daphne?” she queried.

“Yes. She got a lump on the forehead. I don’t think she sustained other injuries. Just to make sure, if you could have your local doctor examine her tomorrow, I would appreciate it.”

Mrs. Douglas nodded her compliance.

I added, “Well, I guess I need to go investigate my handiwork.”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

