Civil War Transcendence, part 155

Mr. Throckmorton thought for a moment and then answered, “I do recall someone saying he was distantly related to the marshal in Harpers Ferry.”

I declared, “That explains a lot. Please continue.”

“Well, about four years ago, Marshal Wells appeared in town and asked for the job of being the town marshal. He stated he was already the town marshal of Kearneysville and he could handle the job for both. We had no lawman and Shepherdstown was growing, so the town council thought it would be a good idea to give him the job. We haven’t had any problems since he has been here.”

“Were there any problems from the Gill Gang since he took over the job?” I queried.

“No, he arrived after the Gill Brothers went to jail. The whole area was free of mayhem when they went to prison,” answered the banker.

“Do you know if he had any ties with any Union sympathizers?” I continued.

“No, not that I know of. Why do you ask?” questioned Mr. Throckmorton.

“I don’t know for sure, but there seems to be a pattern emerging, and I can’t quite put my finger on it. So don’t take my ramblings to heart. I’m just musing out loud,” I posed.

155 civil war dead

Image via Rennett Stowe on flickr. Licensed through Creative Commons.

Mr. Throckmorton stated, “Those are good speculations and questions. I would appreciate it if you would continue to try and find the answers. I believe it would be to the town’s benefit to know what you turn up.”

I nodded in the affirmative. We went next door to the telegraph office. Mr. Black had just gotten a reply from Harpers Ferry that a Confederate Cavalry contingent under the command of Captain Mosby had left for Shepherdstown about two hours ago.

I muttered, “Thank heavens for that.”

We then ushered the trussed up and gagged marshal from the telegraph office. We had no sooner started down the street when a shot rang out. The marshal went down in a heap at the feet of Jonah Sage.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

