Civil War Transcendence, part 157

crosshairs

A NOVEL OF TRAVEL BACK IN TIME

I left town and walked wearily back to Hattie’s place, arriving about 9:00 am. Hattie’s brothers and Poppa had already gone when I walked in the door to the dining room/kitchen. It must have been a real shock to Hattie because she let out a little yell when the door banged shut.

“What have ya been up to?” she queried. “We ain’t ‘eared nutten but big bangs from town, and you been in tha midst of all the big bangs around here lately.”

“Can I have something to eat?” I begged. “It’s been a long night.”

She rustled up some of the leftovers from breakfast, and I filled her in on the entire goings on while I stuffed my face.

She kept real quiet as she took in all the information. When I told her of the near-impossible shot that killed Marshal Wells, she offered that a man near Boonsboro, Maryland, had won a contest about a year and a half ago at a fair in Hagerstown by shooting a half dollar dead center at 250 yards. I asked if she remembered what kind of rifle he used. She said it was smaller than a musket and had a funny long glass on top of the rifle that he looked through to sight on the target.

I really perked up with this information and asked if she knew who he was. She didn’t know his name, only that he came from Boonsboro. I asked what he looked like. She said he was about thirty, wore a brown suit with a brown hat that had a distinctive dark brown hat band around the crown with a small silver heart on it.

I asked her if she had ever been a detective in a prior life, which caused her to look at me with a funny expression on her face. I explained that all I meant was that she was very observant. She replied that she had always been able to see a lot more than most people. She then added with a smirk, “Like you and Ms. Daphne Jane Newcomer sneaking out during Mr. Mumma’s telling of the raid.”

I turned red as a beet and said, “Yeah, well, maybe you are too observant.”

“Are y’all a couple for sure?” she asked.

I answered with a quizzical expression, “I don’t know what that means.”

She retorted, “Are y’all engaged?”

“No,” I answered.

“God help ya if ya do,” she prophesied.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

