Civil War Transcendence, part 163

I had no idea what Captain Mosby had in store for me. I had revealed too much about my arrival in this universe, but I hoped that the story of my amnesia had some validity.

I made it back to Hattie’s place in time to join the Gray clan for a ride to the town meeting. I bet it was going to be a doozy due to the mayhem over the last week. However, I really was hoping for a chance to see Daphne again before she left for Harpers Ferry. I figured she and Mrs. Douglas would attend, even though the Douglas home was in Maryland.

The town was alive with carriages and wagons full of local farm families, horsemen, and local townsfolk making their way to the Methodist church. We had to park the wagon a few blocks from the church and, during the walk to the meeting, I lagged behind and was joined by Jonah and Jeremy Sage. I shook hands with the young men who had helped so much with protection of the town. We implemented our secret handshake, which was the ancient knights’ greeting of grasping forearms. I know it sounds juvenile, but I really felt like a secret agent when we greeted thus.

St. John the Divine Church from Brian on flickr

St. John the Divine Church from Brian on flickr

We fell into step and entered the church. The auditorium was chock-full of people. I looked around for Daphne, but I didn’t see anyone with that luxurious raven hair either in one of the pews, or standing in the back of the auditorium or around the outside walls. Up on the dais, Captain Mosby, Pastor Chambers, Mr. Throckmorton, and three other men, who I judged to be members of the town council, were seated.

At precisely seven o’clock, Mr. Throckmorton rose and went to the pulpit. He asked for everyone to stand, and then requested Pastor Chambers to lead us in prayer. As we bowed our heads, the back door to the church opened. Willie and Mrs. Douglas entered, with Daphne following. I looked around and saw the love of my life. We both smiled at each other with longing glances.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

