Civil War Transcendence, part 166

I guess I was in a daze for the rest of the meeting.

Major Mosby elucidated the townsfolk on our endeavors for the past months, which was news to me. He left out what he thought of Marshal Gill’s possible role in some of the violence against Shepherdstown and the local area. However, he did reference that Marshal Wells had, no doubt, been assassinated because of being a weak link in the cabal that was responsible for the raid and probably supplying the Union cavalry with information. He also said that Mr. Throckmorton had been someone he had relied on for information and, from his insights, had deemed it necessary to get someone to work directly with the cavalry from Shepherdstown. That was when I had appeared on the scene.

When he lied about this information, make that revealed this information, everyone in the congregation looked at me. I turned 50 shades of red, not grey, if that is possible, and looked at Daphne. She stared at me with a surprised look on her face, which turned to a look of pride. I was so glad she took this version of my activities as well as she did.

At this point I lapsed into contemplating why Major Mosby had embellished my activities and function, plus our alleged coordinated work together. I reasoned that he probably had breached the possibility of using me as an undercover agent in Shepherdstown to his commander after the Union Cavalry raid in which I had participated and aided Daphne. I also bet his commander had asked if the response to the raid on Shepherdstown and the capture of the Yanks, who had wanted to blow the bridge, had been from the undercover agent that he had previously suggested and had no doubt recruited. Major Mosby had opportunistically said yes. I also wagered that Mosby’s new promotion was to the rank of brevetted major, which meant that he had been meritoriously raised to the rank of major without the authority or pay of a major, for our supposed successes against the Federals. It was a temporary commission that could be made permanent at a later date.

“Skirmish at Hibernia” licensed under Creative Commons from Darryl Moran on flickr.com

“Skirmish at Hibernia” licensed under Creative Commons from Darryl Moran on flickr.com

Furthermore, I rationalized that this fiction of my role did help allay the townsfolk’s fear of being isolated and not important to the Confederate government. I had to admit this was very savvy politically, as well as proving the town’s worth to the government.

Lastly, it exhibited that the Confederate Cavalry in the area knew what the opposition was up to and had an agent that had responded to the threats or had helped demolish any threats. So where did this leave me? Well, whether I liked it or not, I would be deemed the person to look up to if the town was threatened again. For want of a better analogy, I would now be designated an agent of the Confederate Bureau of Investigation.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

