Civil War Transcendence, part 177

(c) Glasgow Museums; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

(c) Glasgow Museums; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

“What’s wrong with Jacob?” I demanded.

Finally, Mrs. Douglas answered, “His arm had to be amputated. He got a fever after the amputation, contracted pneumonia, and died.”

“Just like Stonewall Jackson,” I mumbled.

“Who is Stonewall Jackson? “queried Daphne.

“An old acquaintance,” I responded. “I hate to hear about Jacob. He was a very brave man,” I added.

“Yes, he was. He will be dearly missed,” Mrs. Douglas replied. I saw Major Mosby raise his eyebrows at this reverence for a slave.

“Have the Yankees been back in this area?” I asked.

Major Mosby provided that they had come back the next day with two companies of cavalry, but that our cavalry boys had invested the area around Ferry Hill with makeshift barricades and two cannons.  The Yanks had been repulsed and retreated to Boonsboro. He also added that the Sage boys had provided very reliable information about the movement of the Yanks and their numbers, which had helped in his defense of the area.  I smiled broadly at how these brave boys had helped the major.

The major added, “Oh, yes. The Sage brothers visited here while you were incoherent and gave their best wishes for your recovery.”

“I shall have to thank them when I see them next,” I replied.

I turned to Daphne and requested, “What is the prognosis for my wounds?”

“Your shoulder was just a flesh wound. The bullet lodged just under the skin. Your leg will take longer to heal. The doctor is supposed to be here today to take a look at it,” she diagnosed. I smiled at her and she smiled back.

“Can I get off my stomach? My back is aching,” I requested.

“Only if you don’t put any weight on the back of your leg,” she ordered.

“I think I will roll onto my right side and see if that will alleviate the pain,” I replied.  With help from the ladies, I was able to turn on my right side and put my left leg on top of my right, which brought immediate relief. I sighed and said that was a lot better.

I looked at the major and asked with a chuckle, “What are we going to do now that we have invaded Maryland?”

He smiled and said adamantly, “Hold our present position. I have already wired Harpers Ferry for more men. I believe the Yanks are trying to move north and around our army to attack General Jackson from the rear. I also believe they wanted to take Shepherdstown and destroy the Potomac Bridge to keep us from having a quick way to respond to their flanking move. You helped thwart their aim.”

“What should we be doing now?” I questioned.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

