Civil War Transcendence, part 179

I awoke with a start and sat up quickly. It was dark and someone had been touching my forehead with something cold.

“It’s just me, darling,” cooed the figure before me as she retracted a long wand-like device.

My eyes started to get accustomed to the gloomy room, but I still couldn’t distinguish the person’s features.  I could tell by the voice that the person was female.

“Who are you?” I asked.

“Just a fellow traveler sent here to check on you. Do you think we would leave you here without ensuring you were well?”

“What do you mean, ‘a fellow traveler?’” I retorted. “You better tell me who you are and how you got in here.”

“Or what? Will you shoot me with one of your famous Colt revolvers?” She giggled.

Original sketch by sukieblackmore on DeviantArt.com

Original sketch by sukieblackmore on DeviantArt.com

This was the most eerie and bizarre conversation I had ever had in my life. Suddenly, fear permeated to the depths of my being. It finally dawned on me that this being could be connected with the Sphere that sent me to this time and place.  I could see clearer now. The figure was in a hooded bluish-green cloak that sparkled, even in the dark. I could tell she was slender, and her eyes gleamed from behind the folds of the hood, but her facial features were totally hidden from view.

She giggled again and declared, “You are a quick one to come to that conclusion so soon.”

I gasped, which brought another giggle from her.

“Yes, I do believe you can be of use to us,” she remarked, putting a gloved hand to her chin in a thoughtful manner.  She suddenly threw back the hood to reveal her face, which shone white as alabaster.  It was what I would consider elfish. Her face was long with a pointed chin. Her eyes were almond shaped and slanted. Her nose was long and dainty.  Her long black hair was luxurious and parted at the top of her head, flooding down either side of her face and disappearing into the cloak. But the most startling part of her countenance were the pointed ears, which stuck through the mass of her mane as it flowed behind her head.

She smiled sweetly at my scrutiny of her facial features. Then she challenged, “Are you quite through with your examination?”

“I-I-I don’t understand,” I stammered.

“Oh, but I think you do,” she declared.  “You knew that I was connected with the Sphere almost immediately. That might be a wild guess, but I doubt it.  In regard to your sojourn here, you have been in so much mischief that it has never been a dull moment in following your exploits. I have thoroughly enjoyed it. But now you have gone and gotten yourself seriously injured, and we will have to do something about that.”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

