Civil War Transcendence, part 180

The awe of communicating with this alien creature had robbed me of my fear, but, when she mentioned my injured leg, all I could think of was some kind of torture.

“What do you mean, you have to do something about my injured leg?” I demanded, while surreptitiously looking around the room for my Colts.

She giggled again and promised, “Don’t worry, Mr. Hager. I’m not here to torture you. I’m here to heal you.”

Then, inclining her head toward a table near the bedroom door where my Colts lay, she added, “And don’t look for your Colts. As you can see, I have removed them to the other side of the room.”

This brought my focus back to her. I gave her a questioning look and then challenged, “Why do you want to help me? And what did you mean when you said I could help you or, I believe the actual quote was, ‘I think you might be able to help US’?”

She giggled that infuriating chortle again and said, “You definitely are a quick one. I believe the Earth saying is ‘all in good time.’ Just be glad we decided to help you at all. Your leg isn’t healing well and, if left to any more machinations of your attending physician, will result in gangrene and death. So let’s get the healing process underway without delay. Lay back on the bed,” she instructed.

I hesitated, and she gave me such a look of commanding authority that I did as she ordered.  She approached me, taking the wand instrument from the folds of her cloak. She had a predatory look on her face as she brought it toward my face.  I was too afraid to look, so I closed my eyes. The wand felt cool as it touched my forehead.

She warned, “This won’t hurt, but it will feel very warm for a few seconds.”

180 fire

To keep my mind off what was about to happen to me, I rasped, “What is your name? At least tell me that.”

“San Cirr Ray,” she announced.

Then I felt heat blow through my body from the top of my head to the tips of my toes. It wasn’t as gentle as she had indicated. I felt as if my insides had turned to lava. I heard someone scream, and I realized it was me. Then I passed out.

The alien smiled and then, hearing running footsteps approaching the room, disappeared.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

