Civil War Transcendence, part 181

I came to, and there was a multitude of people hovering above me.  Daphne was foremost of the group. She was leaning over me and had her hands on my chest. Her face registered a combination of concern and gladness.  She drew out that phantom handkerchief again and began dabbing her eyes.

“We thought you were dead,” she declared. “We heard a scream and when we arrived in the room, your body was contorted and your heart wasn’t beating. How do you feel?”

I registered what she was saying, but my mind was blank for a moment.  Then I asked, “How long was I in a contorted state after you entered the room?”

“About a minute,” she replied.  “How do you feel?” she asked again.

I sort of took an inventory of my body and realized I hadn’t felt this good in years. I felt rejuvenated.  It seemed as if I were 18 again. My wounds didn’t ache anymore.  I said in an awed voice and with a broad smile on my face, “I feel great.”

The shocked looks on the faces gathered around my bed let me know I had to be careful of what I said next.

“What happened?” Daphne demanded. “How can you feel great and, just a moment ago, be so near death?” she probed.

181 weather

“I don’t know, but I must have had some sort of energy charge. Did lightning hit the house?” I rejoined.

“We had a thunderstorm move into the area a few moments before we heard you cry out, but we didn’t feel any lightning hit the house. In fact, you can still hear the rain outside,” she explained.

I cocked my ear and listened. Rain was hitting the windows. There was a rainstorm over Ferry Hill at this very moment.

“Well, a lightning strike is the only logical explanation that I can give,” I clarified.

The servant ladies all of a sudden went down on their knees and began praying for protection against evil spirits inhabiting me and hurting them. I looked at them with a pained expression. This was just what I needed. To be considered a demon-inhabited, gun-toting outsider.  How was I going to cope with this fine mess the alien had gotten me into?

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

