Civil War Transcendence, part 182

I finally had to take the bull by the horns and face the situation. I said in a loud voice, “Does anyone have a crucifix?”

This stopped the praying and moaning of the servant ladies. All eyes turned to me.

Mrs. Douglas took a cross that was on a silver chain from around her neck and gave it to me.

Original image by Andy Rennie on flickr.com

Original image by Andy Rennie on flickr.com

I took it in my hand and solemnly avowed, “As the Lord is my witness, I am not inhabited by a demon or any other imp of Satan. I don’t rightly know what happened to heal me, but either it is a miracle or somehow a charge of lightning struck me.”

The servant ladies got up off the floor and looked at me. One of the ladies, whose name was Anna and appeared to be the mother hen of the brood, said, “Truly Marse Hager, you are the Anointed of the Lord.”

I was totally at a loss for words, but finally stuttered, “If, if, if you say so.”

She bowed and left the room with all the other servant ladies following.

Daphne and Mrs. Douglas watched them leave and then turned to me. I sort of shrugged and asked, “What do you make of that?”

Mrs. Douglas conjectured, “I believe you now have a tribe of women who have put you on the same pedestal as Saint Peter.”

“Surely not, “I responded.

She just looked at me with a puzzled expression and asked, “How did you heal so quickly?”

I reiterated in exasperation, “I don’t know.”

She gave me with a dubious look and followed the servant ladies. I looked at Daphne, and she also had a doubtful expression on her face.

“Do you remember before all this fighting started that you had said you didn’t know how you got here? Well, you better come up with some good answers, Mr. Jim Hager, because that, combined with your sudden healing, has gotten things around here very seriously convoluted and downright scary.”

I sighed and bowed my head. Then suddenly I got an inspiration. I looked up and gave Daphne a piercing gaze.

“Your grandfather and grandmother suddenly appeared in this region and just as suddenly disappeared. Do you think it might be linked with what has happened to me? By chance have you ever heard of the Bermuda Triangle?”

She gave me an incredulous look and said in a frustrated voice, “What in heaven’s name is a Bermuda Triangle?”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

