Civil War Transcendence, part 183

“It’s not really a triangle, but a place in the Atlantic Ocean,” I answered.

“Well, I have heard of the island of Bermuda. I believe it is a British territory. Does this island have something to do with this triangle?” she queried.

I put my hand to my chin in a pondering poise and acknowledged, “It does in a way.” I continued, “Ships have disappeared in a stretch of ocean between Bermuda and the islands in the Caribbean for no reason. There weren’t any storms or hurricanes in the area that could have caused their disappearances. Do you think there is such a place in this region of the country that can cause people to appear and disappear?”

She looked at me for a long moment with a dazed and thoughtful expression and, finally, in a candid moment divulged, “When you came to dinner at our house back in Harpers Ferry and asked Papa the questions about Grandmother and Grandfather, I had a strange, eerie feeling. I thought you might have the answer to the age-old question of their existence. Now, I think you might be the answer to what happened to my grandparents.”

183 wormholeI was shocked. My heart sped up and I broke out in a cold sweat. If ever I had felt a fight or flight experience, this was definitely it. What she said shook me to my core. Could what happened to me also have happened to Daphne’s grandparents? If so, they disappeared after being here for a few decades. Could they have been time travelers also and gone back to their universe? Is this what the alien had been hinting at? Could I go back? Then flashed the question in my mind that felt like a punch in the gut — did I want to go back?

I must have looked like I had seen a ghost, because Daphne rushed to me and in a fearful voice asked, “Jim, are you alright?”

I almost passed out. I had never felt such overwhelming fatigue in my life. I admit, rationalization had won its day with me and I had accepted that I was stuck here for life, and I must make the best of it. I had a job that I really enjoyed, a community in which I had made a difference, and a beautiful, loving women who, for all practical purposes, was my fiancé. I truly adored her and was more than willing to make her my wife. What was I going to do?

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

