Civil War Transcendence, part 192

I thought her reaction was juvenile and whispering urgently, “This is no laughing matter. Have they already surrounded the house and barn?”

Again, she tittered and nodded in the affirmative.  I pulled my Colts and started for the door. I wasn’t going to be caught in this barn. It was too big to defend.  I wanted to make a run for the house. At least there we had more fire power and ammunition.

“You humans are so aggravating. Always acting without thinking. I do have to admit that you are intriguing with all your bluster and passion,” she murmured.

She put her hand on my arm and spun me around.  Her strength caught me by surprise. I was suddenly looking up into those blue-green eyes of hers, and I no longer had control of my body. I remember her putting her arms around me and kissing me. Then I felt energy start at the top of my neck and slowly spread down my back to the base of my spine. It was the most exhilaration and frightening experience I have ever felt.  When she broke from the kiss, she whispered, “My commander said not to get involved with a human, but with you I might make an exception.”

She let me go, and I staggered backward and fell down.  She giggled, as usual. Then, getting a serious look on her face, she declared, “I will take care of the force aligned against you this time, but you will owe me a life debt in the future.”

Suddenly, she was gone.  I heard a howling wind blow in the fields to the south and the cries of frightened horses and men. Then there was complete quiet.

The Sage men broke from the house with their weapons at the ready as I simultaneously staggered from the barn.

“What was that?” Mr. Sage yelled.

“I don’t know,” I admitted. “Get a lantern and let’s see,” I bellowed.

Image via Kai Schreiber on flickr.com

Image via Kai Schreiber on flickr.com

Jonah and Jeremy fetched four lanterns from the house and, once they were all lit, we quickly shuffled for the field to the south of the house. We found a perfect circle about 100 feet across where all the vegetation was missing. All that was left was bare ground. Everyone stared at the strange pattern, and finally Mr. Sage said, “That’s the durn’dest thing I have ever seen in my life.”

Turning to me he asked, “Can ya make head nor tail of it?” I just shook my head no.

“Must have been a freak cyclone, but I swear I hear men and horses yelling,” he added.

I just shook my head in bewilderment and reluctantly wondered what the alien had done with the Yanks. I hoped she hadn’t slaughtered them. And what the heck was a “life debt?”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

