Civil War Transcendence, part 194

 

 

Image via TeenyScarlett on flickr.com

Image via TeenyScarlett on flickr.com

“What the Hell do you want now?” I bellowed with the Colts still pointed at the figure.

“Please put down your weapons. We mean you no harm,” the figure said in a calm male voice.

“Well, at least it wasn’t that tittering female that kissed me into oblivion during our last meeting,” I thought, but I was mad and ready for a fight.

“What do you mean, you don’t mean me any harm? You kidnap me from my own universe, put me in a parallel universe where I had to protect myself in gunfights, and from attacks by Yankee cavalry, muggings and wrestling matches, plus go through a severe culture shock! And you say you don’t mean me any harm?” I yelled.

Through gritted teeth I declared, “It would give me no greater pleasure than to blow your head off right now.”

The figure then uttered one sentence that really got my attention and made my Colts waiver. “Would you like to go back?”

I suddenly felt a cold chill go up and down my spine.  I lowered my Colts and stammered, “What do ya mean, go back?”

“I think you heard what I said,” the alien male curtly declared.  “Put up your pistols and let’s get down to business,” he ordered.

I put my Colts in my belt and stood up. So as not to be put in an inferior position and to gain some control over the situation, I walked toward the alien and demanded, “If we are going to talk, I needed to know your name.”

I also wanted to see the alien’s face, which was impossible due to the glare from the sunlight in my face. As I approached him I saw that he was dressed in a long blue-green hooded robe just like the other alien. He pulled back the hood so I could see his face. Pointed ears peeked out from his mane of long white hair that shimmered in the sunlight. His face was elongated, but not so as to be disproportional. His eyes were light grey and reminded me of the eyes of a wolf.

Once I got within three feet of him, he put forth his hand and said, “I am called Kann Mer Ray.”

I looked at his hand warily. He smiled and promised, “I mean you no harm.”

I cautiously took his hand in mine. Nothing happened, so I shook his hand and quickly released it.  He smiled again and said, “I understand you have met San Cirr Ray. Our relationship is such that you could describe her as my daughter.”

Sarcastically, I answered, “Yes. I guess you could say I met her.  She healed me with an energy that contorted my body in agony, apparently disposed lethally of a squad of Yankee cavalry that was about to attack us, and, against my will, kissed me with a power that nearly fried my spinal cord. I hope I won’t be subjected to her presence again.”

Kann Mer Ray raised his large, white, bushy eyebrows in response to my brief description of his daughter’s antics and said with a serious tone, “I must have a serious discussion with her. I believe you call it a ‘heart-to-heart talk’.”

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

