Civil War Transcendence, part 195

“Before we begin our little confab, I would like to know what happened to the Yankee cavalry that your daughter so conveniently eliminated,” I inquired.

“Such sarcasm, Mr. Hager, doesn’t become you. I do believe she saved you from being apprehended by the Union forces. I don’t understand your worry about their fate,” Kann Mer Ray stated.

I didn’t know the reason for my anxiety, either, so I just hung my head for a moment and looked down at the barn’s floor. Then the reason hit me right in the gut. I looked the alien in the eye and in a defiant voice said, “I just feel that men ought to be given the chance to live their lives without being subjected to otherworldly powers.”

The alien countered, “Even if those powers will bring a better result to the world as a whole?”

“Who are you to say what is best for the world? Do you consider yourselves our keepers?” I snapped.

He smiled and said, “Your precious Union force was picked up and deposited at Point of Rocks without any loss of life to either man or animal.”

“They aren’t my precious Union force, but I wanted nothing to do with mass murder,” I replied angrily.

“Well, you got your wish, Mr. Hager,” he retorted. “Now, may we get down to business, as you people say?”

Image via HA Schult at flickr.com

Image via HA Schult at flickr.com

I smiled at his use of “you people” and I could actually feel him probing my mind for the reason of my smile. I was ready for this, due to the previous encounters with San Cirr Ray. I countered his probe by visually throwing up the Great Wall of China as a barrier in my mind. He responded by taking a step backward and uttering a small gasp. Gathering his faculties, he looked at me more appreciatively and said, with a wary grin, “Well, Mr. Hager, it seems I will have to be careful in any further conversation or communication with you.”

Looking at him with a stern countenance, I asked, “Why am I here?”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

