Civil War Transcendence, part 196

 

 

“Mr. Hager, you are here because you wanted to be here,” he submitted.

I was so shocked by his answer that I took a step backwards and gasped, “What do you mean?”

Image via Rodger Evans on flickr.com

Image via Rodger Evans on flickr.com

The alien smiled and offered, “You have been given a unique gift. Many people on your planet dream of going back in time and living in a different era without losing any of the knowledge they have already attained. Well, this has been granted to you.”

I was still so stunned by his explanation that I could only stare at him with wide-eyed amazement. My lower jaw must have dropped open, because I barely got it closed with a snap before a horsefly flew in my mouth.  This brought a smile from the alien.  He really enjoyed my bewilderment and discomfort.

I ultimately got some composure and retorted, “I didn’t bring myself to this time and space. The Sphere did.”

The alien smiled again and added, “Very true, but we have been monitoring beings such as you with a propensity for living in another historical era. We just brought you here to fulfill your desire.  Consider it our version of Fantasy Island.”

I broke out in a cold sweat.  I was so overcome with a preponderance of thoughts that made no sense and flooded my mind to the point that I said, “I have to sit down.”

Then I abruptly sat on the barn floor and leaned up against a stall fence, took off my hat, and sighed, “Oh, my Lord.” After taking a few deep breaths, my respiration calmed down and my heart stopped racing.

Kann Mer Ray was still standing and had taken up a vantage point across the barn from me. He seemed to be assessing my present discomfort with a jaundiced eye. He must have observed this scene on numerous occasions. Looking at his smug expression helped me shift from shocked distress to unbridled contempt. He must have sensed my transference because he moved toward me. I got to my feet and held up my hand with my palm toward him. He stopped and, just in case he was trying to read my thoughts, I threw up a picture of the Great Wall of China in my mind. I knew it was an exercise in futility, but I also put my right hand on one of the Colts in my belt.  The alien probably had a shield in place that would deflect any bullet from a meager 19th century weapon, but it at least it let him know I wasn’t happy with his supposedly wonderful revelation. My countenance took on a look of wariness as I asked, “What’s the deal?”

Kann Mer Ray retorted haughtily, “What do you mean?”

“You know what I mean,” I accused. “There is a reason you brought me here. Now, what is it?”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

