CIVIL WAR TRANSCENDENCE, part 199

I looked up into the beaming face of the infernal Yankee Captain that had kidnapped
Daphne and caused all the fighting at Ferry Hill.

“Well, we met again Mr. Hager, and this time you are not getting away.” He vowed.

I came to the conclusion my minutes were numbered.  So I resigned myself, stood up straight and with all the impertinence I could muster said, “Kidnapped any defenseless women lately?”captive

That wiped the smile off his face and turned it beet red. “Listen, you Secess Trash, I’m going to personally enjoy watching you hang,” he vowed.

“No, you listen, you Yankee Scum. Even if y’all kill me, I swear I will come back and haunt you to your grave.” I retorted.

The Yankee laughed and responded, “I don’t believe in ghosts.” This brought a laugh from all the Yanks that were surrounding us.

“By the way, I never got your name Captain.” I ventured.

“That’s because, I never gave it. But, since it will do you good to know who is going to make sure you hang, the name is Devlin, Thomas Devlin,” he answered.

I was taken back and the shock must have shown on my face because Captain Devlin smiled broadly and boasted, “I see that you recognize my name, Reb. More of your kind will know it before this war is over.” Turning toward a sergeant, he commanded, “Take them to our camp.”

“You heard what he said,” the sergeant bellowed.

Jonah’s horse and Stonewall were hurriedly saddled, and along with Mr. Sage we were herded toward Boonsboro. As we hit the road leading out of Pleasant Valley, the sergeant rode up to our threesome and informed us that Jeremy had also been arrested and would join us at the camp.

Mr. Sage tried to keep a stoic continence, but he was really affected. He and his two boys had acted as spies and we all would be hanged as such.

I felt the burden of getting these friends in this predicament and uttered, “I am so sorry for this.”

“Shut up, Reb!” the Yankee sergeant roared and threw a backhand at me.

Fortunately, he wasn’t really close and his hand hit my shoulder, but it felt like I had been hit with a sledgehammer. I didn’t let on that it hurt like blue blazes, so the sergeant moved up to the front of our little cavalcade with his captain.

I asked myself, “How are we going to get out of this?”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

