CIVIL WAR TRANSCENDENCE, part 200

I knew that the aliens couldn’t help because they didn’t want the Sages to know they were in this universe. So it was going to be up to me to get us out of this predicament.

Checking all my options I knew once we were in the Yankee camp the chances of escape were almost nil. We had to do something before we got to Boonsboro. We were on the Porterstown Road and headed north to Keedysville. Once we got to Keedysville we would turn to the east and head to Boonsboro. It was a distance of about 8 to 10 miles.

I didn’t have too much time to figure out what to do, so I set my mind to several escape scenarios, but every time I was stymied due to the number of the Yankees. There were about 20 of the Bluebellies. Somehow we had to dwindle them down to 5 or else get control of all of them. But how?

I finally figured that, to do any good, I had to get to the front of the column where the Yankee Captain was and take him hostage. Surveying our little menagerie, the Captain was on the right at the head of the column with a sergeant to his left. There were 7 sets of two’s between the Captain and us. The last set of two’s was in front of us. There was another set of two’s behind us, plus a single trooper on each side of us. Mr. Sage, Jonah and I were three abreast, with me being on the far right.

I suddenly pulled Stonewall to the right into the trooper, acting as our right flanker, and hoofkicked my cayuse to a gallop. It was such a sudden move that it pushed the trooper to the right creating a gap for me to slide through. Breaking free of the guards, I galloped the whole right side of the troop waving my hands and yelling, “Captain Devlin, Captain Devlin, Captain Devlin.”

I also rode close enough to every second trooper on the right side of the column to kick his horse in the flank. Horses were spooked and bolted into their fellow steeds to the front. It caused such a ruckus that the Yanks were caught completely by surprise.

They were all trying to get control of their mounts, and I was allowed to get to the front of the column without being blocked. As I came to the front of the line, the Captain was trying to get control of his charger. I turned Stonewall to the left and aimed straight for the Captain. We t-boned him and drove him into the sergeant on his left.

I continued urging Stonewall forward to keep contact with the Captain’s horse. I then reached over Stonewell’s neck and grabbed the Captain by his tunic. Jerking him to me, I unsnapped his holster and pulled his pistol free.

The surprise on his face was worth a million dollars.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

