CIVIL WAR TRANSCENDENCE, part 201

The Yankee sergeant next to the Captain had gotten control of his horse and pulled his pistol. I cocked the pistol I had pointed at the Captain’s head and ordered, “Drop the pistol Sergeant or your Captain dies.”

This made him think of what would happen to him if he shot me. I would kill their precious Captain with my dying breath. The other troopers were witnesses and would testify to his bungling of the situation. By this time, all the troopers had gotten control of their mounts, had pulled their pistols, and were pointing them at me.

With a chuckle the Captain smugly declared, “You haven’t got a chance.”

I smiled back and stated with a loud voice, “If I have to die, I get to carry you to Hell with me, you abuser of women.”

The Captain’s face turned pale, and his men turned questioning faces from me to the Captain. I could see they were wondering who the Captain had abused. This was the time to act.

revolverI quickly pointed the pistol at the ground and pulled the trigger. Everyone jumped and looked back at me. I again cocked the pistol, and pointing it at the Captain’s head, ordered, “Tell them to drop their pistols, or so help me Jehovah, I’m going to blow your head off.”

The Captain must have believed me, because in a shaky voice he uttered, “Drop your pistols.”

Reluctantly the soldiers began to drop their guns. I yelled at Mr. Sage and Jonah to collect their pistols and carbines. They dismounted and began the disarmament. After a very tense five minutes, all of the pistols and carbines were put in a pile. Thank heavens they didn’t have any sabers or it would have taken longer!

I breathed a sigh of relief and told all the troopers to dismount. The Captain started to dismount, but I told him to stay on his horse. Once the troopers were on the ground, I ordered them to take off their boots. They didn’t like this one little bit so I fired another round into the ground. This got their attention and they quickly obeyed my order.

Looking at me and the Sages – who by this time were armed and pointing pistols at the gaggle – they looked askance of what to do next.

I pointed north up the road to Keedysville and commanded,” Start walking.” With a lot of grumbling, they started shuffling toward their camp.

I told Jonah to get some kind of rope or a belt and bind the Captain’s hands behind his back. This brought a curse from the Captain and a chuckle from me. Once he was bound and Jonah was holding the reins of his horse, I dismounted and got two pistols from the pile to replenish my armament. Then Mr. Sage and I tied a carbine and a pistol to each saddle with twine we found in one of the saddle packs.

Once we finished, the Captain asked, “Well, what happens now?”

Being the smart mouth that I am, I replied, “I give up, what happens now?”

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

